syracuse.com: more from indigo girl amy ray

original publish date: 22 march 2007
by mark bialczak, the post-standard

[link to source]

small_indigosmallAmy Ray was obviously in a good mood when she called me on the phone earlier this month.

She and Indigo Girls partner Emily Saliers had just returned from a tour in the United Kingdom, and being back in Georgia sure felt fine to Ray.

I’ve written about the Indigo Girls’ new CD, “Despite Our Differences,” in my Music Notes column in today’s Post-Standard.

Here’s some stuff that didn’t make it into print:

About a day off in Dublin, Ireland:

“I walked around. I looked at old, medieval ruins. There was a big rugby match between England and Ireland, so the bars were packed. People were cheering in the streets because Ireland won. … I love being over there. But I love being here. I really prefer the States. I love to see all the history here.”

About the move from Epic Records for to an independent label Hollywood Records for the new CD:

“I haven’t felt the need to be bigger or have more hits.”

About what’s next:

“I’m writing a lot of, like, different kinds of songs. I have 10 or so songs started, but I can’t tell what’s going to work out. I’m not sure where Emily’s at.”

About her political beliefs and perhaps writing a protest song about war:

“I’m an activist, so I think about that all the time. But it comes out in different ways. I want to be the best I can be. I find myself lyrically writing about what’s going on with me that way.”

~ by Erin on Wednesday, July 29, 2009.

One Response to “syracuse.com: more from indigo girl amy ray”

  1. I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours lately, but I
    never discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It is lovely price enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and
    bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the web will likely be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

 
