moody-springs.blogspot.com: The Time I Got a Check From Amy Ray

original publish date: 21 june 2009
moody-springs.blogspot.com

[link to source]

Well, it was in August 2008. I know that because Didn’t It Feel Kinder had just come out. So, I did my thing there at Daemon Records and ordered it. While I was on the page, I saw chilling there a 45 rpm called Careless Youth. Now, I don’t even have a turntable anymore; I couldn’t have listened to it, but I loved the cover of it, which showed her holding a cat. Besides, it was only $5. So I ordered one of those, too, while I was doing my ordering.

Well, between the time that I placed my order and the time that they got the money over at Daemon Records, the Careless Youth sold out. So when I received my package with Didn’t It Feel Kinder, there was a note inside of it, printed on an inkjet printer, that said that they at Daemon Records were sorry to inform me that Careless Youth was sold out, but they would give my money back. Underneath the typed words there was Amy Ray’s signature. Wrapped inside the paper was a check for the $5 that Amy Ray had made out and signed. I had to have a little laugh to myself. Why on Earth would I cash a check from Amy Ray? It was too cool. I still have it in my closet.

~ by Erin on Friday, August 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
